Hit and Run Accident Attorneys in Hamden CT Help Victims Seek Justice
Connecticut auto accident lawyers pursue full compensation
When a driver flees the scene of an accident that results in property damage and does not attempt to assist an injured party, they have committed a crime. A driver might do so for several reasons, such as drunk driving, driving without insurance, driving a stolen car, having contraband in the car and just plain being scared. But when you’re the victim of a hit and run driver, you don’t really care why that person left. You care about how you might get compensation for your property damage and bodily injuries. At Gesmonde, Pietrosimone & Sgrignari, L.L.C. in Hamden and East Haven, our auto accident attorneys help hit and run victims overcome legal obstacles so that they can recover the compensation they deserve.
Connecticut hit and run laws
In Connecticut, any driver who gets into an accident, regardless of its cause, has a duty to take these steps:
- Render reasonable first aid to anyone in need
- Identify themselves to other drivers or owners of damaged property
- Report the accident to police
In Connecticut law, leaving the scene of an accident without taking these measures is called “evading responsibility.” A driver who flees an accident where only property damage has occurred is guilty of a misdemeanor. However, when a person has been injured or killed, a fleeing driver is guilty of a felony. The driver also has a duty to compensate injured parties if he or she has caused the crash.
What to do after a hit and run accident in Connecticut
If you are in an accident and another driver takes off, don’t give chase. Immediately write down a description of the vehicle and any fragment of the license plate you might have seen. Then you should:
- Call the police. If anyone is injured, request an ambulance.
- Get your car to a safe place. Wait for help to arrive.
- Render first aid to any injured party.
- Collect evidence. Take photos of the accident scene. Speak to witnesses and get their contact information.
- Call your insurance company. This is a contractual obligation.
- File a police report. Connecticut law allows five days.
Finally, you should contact our law firm so we can begin a thorough investigation of the accident.
Will insurance cover a hit and run collision?
In Connecticut, an accident victim can file a claim against the at-fault driver. When that driver is unknown, you need to seek other sources of financial recovery. Fortunately, Connecticut requires minimum levels of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which you can use in the event of a hit and run. Your policy should have UM/UIM limits of at least $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident.
There are also optional types of coverage you might have purchased:
- Collision — This coverage provides reimbursement for damage to your vehicle resulting from a crash caused by someone else or even yourself. Your policy may have a deductible. For damage that exceeds the deductible, you can collect up to the limit of collision coverage.
- MedPay — This is Connecticut’s optional version of the mandatory personal injury protection coverage that exists in no-fault insurance states. If you’ve purchased MedPay, you can get help with your medical bills but it does not cover lost income or pain and suffering.
Your auto insurance company can resist full payout of your claim. Our attorneys can help you negotiate a fair settlement to give you the funds you need to recover from your injuries.
Contact our Connecticut personal injury lawyers regarding your hit and run accident
Gesmonde, Pietrosimone & Sgrignari, L.L.C. in Hamden and East Haven, represents Connecticut clients who have been injured in hit and run accidents. To discuss your case, please call 203-745-0942 or contact us online.